What We Did While She Was Gone Pt 3

FELICITY’S POV

I gaze at Jayla. She isn’t moving.


At the sight of her chest heaving up and down, I start to relax and I pull out my phone and open the message app.

It automatically takes me to Jayla’s chat page, for she was my most recent texter.

I re-read our conversation.

Do u want 2 come over tonite 4 a movie?


Those words sting like angry wasps. I they weren’t on the screen, then Jayla wouldn’t be like–like that.


The worst part?

That it was all my fault.


ISABEL’S POV

I look at Jayla, lying helplessly in the drab hospital bed.


Winter is pacing around her.


Why, why did I have to argue with Lissie over some dumb movie? Why did I have to declare a sort of war between my siblings? 

I couldn’t bear to think of alll the mess I had made, not only to the house, but to Jayla. 


If I hadn’t been quarreling with my own family, she wouldn’t have had to come over to break the tie and things wouldn’t be like–like this.

The worst part?

That it was all my fault.


ALEXANDRA’S POV

Why did I have to make my siblings vote, of all things? Hadn’t I known that there was an even number of dolls? Why had I been so desperate for a say in the movie we watched? 


I couldn’t bear to think of the fact that if I hadnt voted, Jayla wouldn’t have needed to come.

The worst part? 

That it was all my fault.

MARYELLEN’S POV

“Visiting hours are over.” The doctor says and all of Jayla’s admirers, friends, and relatives file out in to the eaiting room. 


Alexandra, Isabel, and Felicity are all sitting in a row with their heads down, probably blaming themselves.


It was so pathetic that it was almost funny. I would’ve laughed, despite the dire situation. 

“Guys,” I say to them as I plop on the couch. “You know it’s none of your faults, right? Why are all of you blaming yourselves for something that happened by coincidence? It could have just as easily happened at her house.”


“You’re right,” Isabel says.

“Thank goodness for Winter.” Alexandra sighs. 


What will happen to Jayla? How will they contact Emmie?


7 thoughts on “What We Did While She Was Gone Pt 3

  1. Pingback: Wrapping Up JUNE!! 😱 + July Goals  – American Girl World

Leave a Reply

